Whipped Cream

18 Jan

Whipped cream is so much better when it’s made right at home.  It’s also super easy to make.  It’s a thing of culinary beauty really.  And the best part?  You can flavor it any way you want!  I’m putting this delicacy on crêpes, though, so I’m going with the plain ol’ vanilla version.

You only need 3 ingredients for this: powdered sugar, vanilla, and heavy cream.  I always get the big carton of heavy cream because look at the expiration date on that baby – this one doesn’t expire until February 11th!

It’s best to start with very cold heavy whipping cream. Depending on how much room I have in my freezer, I usually pour 1 cup of the heavy whipping cream into my stand mixer’s bowl and put the whole thing into the freezer.  If I don’t have room, I just pour the heavy cream into a drinking cup and put that into the freezer or put the whole dang carton in there.

Cold Cold Heavy Cream

Next add 2 teaspoons vanilla or whatever flavor you are attempting (if it’s a liquid).  Ooo wouldn’t peppermint whipped cream be amazing on some nice hot cocoa?!

Inhale. Mmmmm vanilla

Now whip together on medium-high speed until peaks begin to form.  I had my KitchenAid stand mixer on 6 for about 2 minutes.

Sorry about the shadows

Now, slowly, add in 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar (if you are adding a dry flavor like cinnamon, you’d add it here too).  You can always test it here and if it isn’t sweet enough, add a little more, but I think it’s the perfect amount especially for crêpes!

Yum!

This stuff goes great on crêpes, or that flourless torte I love, or in your coffee, or right on a big spoon and into your mouth!

Enjoy!

Printable Recipe

2 Responses to “Whipped Cream”

  1. Kelly March 29, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    You can substitute Agave or Stevia for the sugar for a lower glycemic version.

    • TheHammerAndTheSpoon April 1, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

      I have never tried, but it would be a fun experiment! Agave may effect the consistency & the ability to fluff.

Leave a Reply

